Monday, April 16, 2007

Critical Manners: We Aren't Traffic - Are We?

Waiting For The Most Courteous Riders Bringing Up The Rear

The idea behind Critical Manners was simple enough: bicyclists who assembled at the Main Library in San Francisco would proceed in single file, and stop at every red light for the duration of the ride.

“We take obedience of the law ridiculously seriously,” read the notice from the self-styled Missy Manners.

OK, I responded, thanks for the invite – even though my manners suck! I suppose there is always room for improvement.

“There's always room for improvement,” Missy Manners primly assured me.

OK, OK – I get that. I can try to be civil. It might be a stretch, come Friday evening, after a taxing week of work. But I’ll try. Anything. Once. If it isn’t clearly hemlock packaged as Kool-Aid.

I did worry about the date – Friday the 13th – hardly an auspicious day to ride. But hey: I will fear no evil.

Obviously the intent of Critical Manners is to demonstrate radical courtesy in contrast with the aggressive misbehavior of “the testosterone brigade” which has been the subject of copious harsh and often one-sided reportage of the March Critical Mass bike ride.

If cyclists simply follow the rules of the road, then conflicts with motorists should magically disappear. And they might even begin to like and respect us, woo hoo!

So at 6:05 I arrived at the library - too late to be read the rules of the road by Missy Manners, as the ride was just getting under way. There were 16 cyclists counted in the news reports – it may have been a little higher with some other latecomers, but no more than 20, tops.

Maybe 4 or 5 motorcycle cops took turns following and in some cases preceding us. Because we stopped at all the lights – and it seemed they were timed so nearly each one we hit was red – progress was slow.

In the news coverage that appeared the next day in the San Francisco Comical, a rider opined “You know, there's nothing really wrong with red lights."

Playing devil’s advocate, I’d suggest they are most needed for reining in motorized traffic. Also, the vehicle code does not require bikes ride in single file – there was no reason we could not ride two abreast and hold the lane we were in.

But I came with what I hoped was an open mind, and was willing to observe the premise of this ride’s organizer.

The route took us up Polk Street to North Point. Did the helicopter hovering ahead of us belong to a news organization or the police? This eye in sky remain fixed as we plodded northwards towards the Bay.

A few of us waved, sardonically disbelieving that we could be worthy of such lofty attention. At least it did not trail us to Embarcadero, which we then followed down to Market Street.

Bicycling single file does not promote conversation, apart from warning people about obstacles – “Debris bin ahead” – and traffic. As I am not the chattiest person to begin with, it essentially eliminated the ease of conversing with others as we were hardly ever alongside one another. Even at lights we tended to be strung out in a line, keeping a wary distance between us.

At the traditional starting point of Critical Mass, we walked our bikes onto the promenade across from the Ferry Building. On the sidewalk leading to Market St. Missy Manners thanked the police escort – who congratulated us on a tranquil and uneventful ride that could serve as an example for all.

Thanking the Police

With that bizarre encomium, I took off on my ownsome, musing that apart from a few fleeting moments of surrealism, this must have been the most boring bike ride of my life.

Unlike other rides - with friends, or casual, impromptu companions, or en masse - the extreme self-conscious effacement and submissiveness of Critical Manners precluded my developing any sense of riderly community. Riding together is an interactive and spontaneous joy when it is unfettered by inflexible and illogical restrictions.

After being immersed in an atmosphere of milquetoast deference to any and all rulers of the road, I now felt an urgent need to flout the law and break something. But instead of smashing a windshield or keying a double-parked car, I contented myself with breaking wind in the general direction of the hyperpolite Messrs. Manners.

Well excuse-say moi!

5 comments:

Unknown said...

I actually don't believe that merely stopping at stoplights is going to magically solve all of cyclists' problems. I just think many drivers have the perception that we think we're above the law. I'm trying to counteract that.

I'm sorry that the experience was so overwhelmingly lame for you. This is the largest crowd the ride has drawn, and it did affect our ability to talk back and forth with other riders. When it was smaller, we'd often cluster up and chat as we rode.

Megan Lynch said...

I was raised to obey the rules of the road whether on a bike or in a car so I don't have this expectation that I'll be riding abreast of other bikers and yakking any more than I'd expect to be driving alongside another car and yelling a conversation between cars. If I'm someplace where there's clearly not going to be auto traffic for a while, I may ride abreast but I'll go right back into single file as soon as there's traffic to share the road with. I'm fine with taking the lane when I need to do so for my own safety, but in general I think it's rude as a very slow vehicle (my riding speed averages at 10 mph these days) to take the lane when I don't have to. Back when I used to ride Critical Mass pretty regularly (in the first couple years of its existence), I found myself often endangered by cyclists riding alongside me because they didn't ride in any consistent way. I couldn't predict where they were going to go. They often criss-crossed and I saw a couple collisions as well as narrowly missed a few myself. This tends not to happen when one is riding single file. The only single file accidents I know of happen when a cyclist in front of one has to make a sudden stop.

Do I obey every single law there is for bikes? No. If I'm on a street with no traffic or pedestrian traffic, I won't stop for a stop sign. (I do stop for lights, however.) If I'm on the top of a T-intersection and no pedestrians are around, I'll often blow through because a cyclist riding along the shoulder can't possibly intersect badly with where the cars are going. But in general I believe there are good reasons for the laws we have and I believe that we could have a safer and more civil society if people obeyed them.

My drive towards civility in biking (or any transit) is nothing new. I value civility. And I've seen how scofflaws and hooligans give cyclists a real PR black eye. Will pure civility get cyclists the kind of change we want? No. But neither will pure hooliganism.

aturley said...

Your main criticism of the rides seems to be, "Man, this is boring. These squares need to shake things up." Many San Francisco cyclists seem to be smitten with the idea they have some sort of moral right to ride their bikes in the most carefree way possible, and that if they were forced to follow any rules on their bikes that it would be a sign that they had given in to the evils of oppression by the man.

Does following the rules scare you because it might threaten your image of yourself as a merry prankster, cruising the streets spreading confusing joy? Are you affraid that by signalling your turns and stopping at stoplights you might become one of the milquetoasts you despise? Do you have any other criticism for this ride, other than "lame"?

ChiMerican said...

In answer to Andrew, No, No - and who said I don't signal my turns? It happens I have a low tolerance for self-righteous conformity and unctuous ingratiation with the authorities. It's not a question of being wedded to any particular image of the prankster or scofflaw - it just is not very interesting to ride in the way described as Critical Manners, unless one gets off on simply being overweeningly polite.

Nor do I think it scalable. With turnout in the low double digits, it is manageable, but any larger I would expect it to become unwieldy, and an even greater aggravation to motorists - whom they hope to placate - than the freewheeling alternative.

gregathome said...

Jeez, what a lame commentary. I guess some cyclists are just too cool to be anything but an annoyance to everyone else.